Spear Education Grant

Grant Overview

Recognizing the need for increased accessibility to higher education in dental laboratory technology, Spear and the Foundation for Dental Laboratory Technology have partnered to bring you the Spear Education Grant.

The Spear Education Grant will award two in-person Spear Educational Seminars and five Spear Online Memberships at no charge. The charge for a Spear Educational Seminar would typically be $995 per seat, and the charge for a Spear Online Membership would be $2,748; however, due to Spear’s generosity, the grant recipients will have these fees waved.

Spear two-day seminars provide solid, fundamental concepts, systematic treatment planning and proven steps for achieving predictable clinical results. There are seven different seminars to choose from, including Interdisciplinary Management of Esthetic Dilemmas, Demystifying Occlusion, Treating the Worn Dentition, and more. For a full listing and detailed information on the available seminars, please click here.

With a Spear Online Membership, you will gain instant 24/7 access to Clinician Education, Patient Education, Team Training, Lobby Videos and more.


  • In order to be eligible for this grant an applicant must be actively working in the dental laboratory technology profession.
  • Sitting members of the NADL Board, NBC Trust, or FDLT Trust are not eligible as individuals to apply for or win grants/scholarships offered through the Foundation.
  • The Spear Education Grant winner(s) must attend the seminar/join within one year of being awarded the grant. No extensions will be given.
  • The Spear Education Grant winner(s) of the Spear Educational Seminars will be responsible for their own travel and accommodations.
  • The Spear Education Grant winner(s) will be required to provide the Foundation with a headshot and testimonial (web video submission or typed submission on letterhead paper) about receiving the grant, attending the course, and how this experience will positively impact his/her DLT career, prior to funds being released.
  • No cash will be provided to the grant recipient. If the recipient fails to use the grant or cannot make their scheduled course date, they will forfeit their grant.
  • The Spear Education Grant winner(s) will not be eligible to receive this grant two years in a row.

  • Applications are due on July 15th. No extensions will be given.
FDLT Trustee Martha Martin recognizes Spear Education for their unwavering support and commitment to the future of dental laboratory technology during the 2018 Spear Summit meeting.

Pictured above left to right: Dr. Martin Mendelson; Matthew Martin, CDT; Martha Martin, FDLT Trustee; Dr. Frank Spear; Dr. Steve Ratcliff; Matt Blaser, Study Club Advisor
Apply Online Here


Download Application Here

    2023 Awardees

  • Alejandra Nathaly Fuenmayor Jr. – Herriman, UT
  • Amalia D Rodriguez – Hollywood, FL
  • Frank Tintrup – Mount Vernon, NY
  • Kassandra Oliva – Fontana, CA
  • Monica Buchanan, CDT – Waterford, WI
  • Paul Olawumi Alabi – Lagos, Nigeria
  • Tom Rostron, CDT – San Diego, CA

    2022 Awardees

  • Andrew Williamson – Spanish Town Jamaica
  • Criag May – Billings, MT
  • John Madden, CDT – Minneapolis, MN
  • Katayoun Sahebgharani – Rockville, MD
  • Kim Doyle, CDT – Portland, OR
  • Marie Thomas, CDT, TE – Clovis, NM
  • William Yi, CDT – Aliso Viejo, CA

    2021 Awardees

  • Adam Spearman – Maumelle, AR
  • Cybele Weilbacher, CDT – Dunedin, FL
  • Kelly Ann Simpson – Gilberts, IL
  • Laura Andreescu, CDT – Brooklyn, NY
  • Lauren Blanton, CDT – Anchorage, AK

  • 2020 Awardees

  • Chris Timmerman, CDT, TE – San Diego, CA
  • Daoudian Mehran, CDT – Pasadena, CA
  • Jeremiah Holder, CDT – Napes, FL
  • Maximiliano Ivanovich – Melbourne, FL
  • Nicole Jackson, CDT – Waukesha, WI

    2019 Awardees

  • Bridget Boudreau, CDT – Collinsville, IL
  • Caitlin Dawson, CDT – Mechanicsville, VA
  • Jee, Kim, CDT – Honolulu, HI
  • Lauren Blanton, CDT – Hewitt, TX
  • Tomas Mikonis, CDT – Largo, FL

2018 Awardees

  • Jenn-Hwan Chen, CDT – Coppell, TX
  • Jennifer Ludwig – Beaver Dam, WI
  • Kate Nguyen, CDT – Los Angeles, CA
  • Matthew Hotelling, CDT – Charlotte, NC
  • Sooji Lee, CDT – Waco, TX

  • 2017 Awardees

    • Iwona Alicja Villa, CDT – Westminster, CA
    • Jennifer Krueger, CDT – Hastings, MN
    • Lisa Bornsheuer, Master CDT – Tyler, TX
    • Mindy Ledwell-Maier – Thomasville, NC
    • Anyanwu Nnamdi – Birnin Kebbi, Nigeria

    • 2016 Awardees

      • Anthony Calonico, CDT, TE – Bolingbrook, IL
      • Daniel Ulaszek, CDT – Bolingbrook, IL
      • Naoki Aiba, CDT – Monterey, CA
      • Paul McGrath, CDT – Bolingbrook, IL
      • Remington Redell, CDT – Aurora, CO

      Click here to download the full press release.

      Grant Application Deadline

      July 15th

      Application Criteria

      Completed application must include:
      • A completed Spear Education Grant application form
      • A completed typed Letter of Interest that fully answers each of the 3 questions asked in the application
      • A signed Application Affidavit
      • All of the above must be submitted to the Foundation office by July 15th

      The Foundation for Dental Laboratory Technology

      Attn: Lindsey Rowan
      325 John Knox Rd #L103
      Tallahassee, FL 32303
      Fax: (850) 222-0053
      Email: foundation@dentallabfoundation.org

Get Social

facebook callout

Contact Us

325 John Knox Rd
L-103, Tallahassee, FL 32303
Phone Icon
Phone Icon
Phone Icon
Advance The Profession of Dental
Laboratory Technology
FDLT Donate